Leary and Market! A safer trail for everyone!

 

We are asking Mayor Durkan and Seattle City Council to complete the Burke-Gilman on Market and Leary because it is safer and less expensive than the Shilshole Ave route. Support our cyclists and our working families!

Please feel free to copy and paste this email message below and then send to Seattle City Council Members
(email links provided below):

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Subject: Leary & Market! A safer completion of the Burke-Gilman Trail.

Dear Mayor Jenny Durkan and Seattle City Councilmembers,

I am writing to urge you to complete the Missing Link of the Burke-Gilman trail using a protected bike facility along Leary Avenue and NW Market Street instead of on Shilshole Avenue.

The Leary and Market route is:

* Safer than Shilshole because bikes and trucks do not mix—someone will get hurt or killed in that location.

* Less expensive—why is the City spending $31 Million to build a recreational trail along Shilshole when it could build protected bike lanes on Leary and Market for less than $2 Million?

* Better for Seattle because it will retain Union and family-wage jobs that provide living wages to blue-collar workers.

* Will not be delayed until 2025 while SPU builds the CSO project under the City’s consent decree with the US EPA.

Please build a transportation facility in a location that is a win-win for ALL of Seattle.

 

Sincerely,

Your Name

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mayor's Office:

Shefali Ranganathan

shefali.ranganathan@seattle.gov

Council Member Emails:

Sally Bagshaw
Sally.Bagshaw@seattle.gov

Bruce Harrell
Bruce.Harrell@seattle.gov

 

Mike O’Brien
Mike.Obrien@seattle.gov

 

Kshama Sawant
Kshama.Sawant@seattle.gov

 

Lorena Gonzalez
Lorena.Gonzalez@seattle.gov

 

Lisa Herbold
Lisa.Herbold@seattle.gov

 

Rob Johnson
Rob.Johnson@seattle.gov

 

Debora Juarez
Debora.Juarez@seattle.gov

Teresa Mosqueda

Teresa.Mosqueda@seattle.gov

SUPPORT US

Contact

Address

1425 Broadway #42 Seattle, WA 98122

©2018 by Ballard Cycle Track.